Review: The Nightingale

The Nightingale
The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Not my usual kind of reading – but recommended by a dear friend and thus worth giving a chance. I’m glad I did.

The Nightingale tells the story of two French sisters during the Nazi occupation in the 30s and 40s. It was refreshing to read a woman-centered story about the resistance.

Although it took more than 100 pages to get my interest, and every plot twist was obvious (and how many times can you repeat that the aging father’s features were ‘like wax’?), I still read the story’s conclusion through thick tears so . . . 4 stars.

It is important, in all eras, to remember that sometimes what is right and what is legal are not the same, and that all of us must act. To do nothing is to be complicit.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

