Review: Triggers: Creating Behavior That Lasts–Becoming the Person You Want to Be

Triggers: Creating Behavior That Lasts--Becoming the Person You Want to Be
Triggers: Creating Behavior That Lasts–Becoming the Person You Want to Be by Marshall Goldsmith
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Really interesting and useful. Written in an engaging and easy style – Goldsmith asks the reader to consider who and how he or she wants to be in the world, and shares the strategies he has used with corporate clients to help them reach their goals. (First, how amazing would it be to work for a company that was willing to pay someone to help you with this?)

Things I want to remember:

Did you do your best to be happy?
Did you do your best to find meaning?
Did you do your best to build positive relationships with people?
Did you do your best to be fully engaged?

Did I do my best to set clear goals today?
Did I do my best to make progress toward my goals today?
Did I do my best to find meaning today?
Did I do my best to be happy today?
Did I do my best to build positive relationships today?
Did I do my best to be fully engaged today?

Also, to remember: All those petty annoyances – the rude customer, the stonewalling service rep on the phone, the driver that cuts you off on the highway – none of them are even thinking about you. They’re unaware of you, don’t care about you, and didn’t set out that day to bug you. Getting upset with them doesn’t help you. Find a way to calm down and move on.

“Our mission in life should be to make a positive difference, not to prove how smart or right we are.”

“Every decision in the world is made by the person who has the power to make the decision. Make peace with that.”
Is this battle worth fighting?
(Fight the battles worth fighting; let the others go.)

The other really helpful suggestion Goldsmith has is to tell someone what you are working on and to schedule a daily, brief conversation with that person so that they can ask you the questions that pertain to the improvement you’re working towards. A daily check in to help keep this in your consciousness and in your effort.

I love mornings. Every day, I wake up with a renewed sense of what the day can be, what it might bring, and how it’s another chance. I think of this, attributed to Neil deGrasse Tyson:

For me, I am driven by two main philosophies:
know more today about the world than I knew yesterday
and lessen the suffering of others.
You’d be surprised how far that gets you.

I try this every day. Sometimes I succeed, more times I fail. But I’ll definitely be adding working on positive relationships and not fighting unnecessary battles (and not needing to prove how smart or right I am in every setting).

I would recommend this book to anyone who works in a team or with the public and is looking for a little coaching that does not contain creepy jargon or require you to sign on with anything cultish.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

