Review: The Subtle Knife

The Subtle Knife
The Subtle Knife by Philip Pullman
My rating: 0 of 5 stars

I’d forgotten how much this story pissed me off. Lyra loses her spunk and confidence, Golden Compasses’ world of wonder is subsumed by the modern world of authoritarian evil, the witches turn both ineffective and duped by the sex appeal of powerful men, and Grumman proves hideously untrustworthy. Oh, adolescence, the wool is pulled away and we see the world for its ugly self. Of course, I cannot wait to re-read book 3.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

