Review: The Boston Girl

The Boston Girl
The Boston Girl by Anita Diamant
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I started this book and thought, disappointedly, another Jewish immigrant girl at the turn of the century. What can be new about this? But, oh, Addie! What a character, what a voice! She is a real person leaping off the page and I wish I knew her.

I understand what many readers mean when they say Diamant breaks no new ground here. There’s nothing shocking, nothing you haven’t heard before. And it’s a little unusual that it skips right over the Holocaust. And the end is rushed. But something about the writing gave me such a feeling for Addie Baum. She was terrific. Diamant created wonderful characters who you couldn’t help but like and root for. A wholly satisfying, if untaxing, read. I would recommend this to many of my library patrons looking for a story to take them away and remind them of the swoop of the last century.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

