Review: The Word Exchange

The Word Exchange
The Word Exchange by Alena Graedon
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

In a not too far in the future New York, people are dependent on their electronic devices for phones, entertainment, ordering food, hailing a cab, experiencing their memories, accessing their money, looking up words. (Sound familiar?) As each upgrade comes on line, more and more of human communication happens through the devices rather than between individuals. And then, people start to get sick. Nauseous. Debilitated. Their speech becomes scrambled and then – unintelligible. Some go completely silent. Is it a virus? Is it a corporate scheme? Is it a terrorist attack?

I love meeting and spending time with people who are smarter than I am. And Alena Graedon is way smarter than I am. This book is delightful and insightful and exciting and timely and important without ever being pedantic. The characters are interesting. This is a political thriller centered on the power of the written and spoken word, asking what is the value of communication? If I had talent and could write a book, I would want to write this one.

I wish I could write a better and more interesting review of this. You should just read The Word Exchange.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

