Review: The Weirdness: A Novel

The Weirdness: A Novel
The Weirdness: A Novel by Jeremy Bushnell
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Two stars – but not really two stars. It isn’t a bad book, just not my kind of book. It seemed like my kind of book: a wild and outlandish adventure with magic and a strangely not-quite-evil devil and a quest and it’s all pretty much set in the Chelsea neighborhood of NY, as so many novels I’ve read this year seem to be. I even learned the Japanese word, neko, in a phone conversation with a friend the night before I read it in this book.

But

Billy is another in a long string of too-old-to-be-creatively-floundering man-boys who have dead-end jobs, squalid apartments, and commitment issues, despite having a fine education, good parents, and a reasonable talent. It’s not cute. I don’t love hanging out with these perpetual mooching babies in real life, and I’m not feeling like reading about them, either. If this sort of thing doesn’t bother you, perhaps, you will love this silly book. The very ending is quite well done.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

