Review: The Book Thief

The Book Thief The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I read this one long ago when the book first came out and liked it but don’t remember being blown away. It’s our all-town read right now & I want to participate, so I’m revisiting it. Still on disc 1, but the reader is great! And I do love Death as a character. I did finish it a 2nd time. It feels heretical to say this (and I know some friends will be aghast) but this book does not impress me. My attention wandered. I did become fond of Liesel and her foster parents. In the end, it was just too much of this incident and that incident and no single dramatic event brought to crescendo. It reminded me of World’s Fair (Doctorow), really. A pastiche, a sense of a place and time, a picture. But not a dramatic novel.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

