Review: Words Will Break Cement: The Passion of Pussy Riot

Words Will Break Cement: The Passion of Pussy Riot
Words Will Break Cement: The Passion of Pussy Riot by Masha Gessen
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was a little tricky for me as an audiobook. Not being truly familiar with Russian history, geography, philosophy, art, politics, or language, there were so many places where I backtracked so I could really hear what Gessen was telling the reader. Eventually, I acknowledged that there were too many details I was too un-schooled to pick up on, and decided to go for the big picture.

Basically, Russia is HUGE. It’s cold. People are protesting the abuses of the Putin government, and they are not at all surprised when they are arrested under the slimmest of charges. The Russian judicial system and its prisons are as bad as they seemed in any Russian novel you may have read in translation back in high school. As defendants, the members of Pussy Riot were kept in actual glass cages, separate from the courtroom. They couldn’t always hear what was going on. They were kept from meeting with their lawyers. They were stopped from asking questions to fully understand the charges, and they were not allowed to speak up for themselves.

Only 3 stars for my experience here. A smarter reader will certainly give more, as I may after I watch Pussy Riot: A Punk Prayer.

P.S. The reader of the audiobook was very good. However, the kid was interested in the politics and the punk aspect, but I stopped listening while we were together b/c the swearing was really rank in places. It didn’t bother me on my own, but it is not for family listening.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

