Review: The Mysterious Howling

The Mysterious Howling
The Mysterious Howling by Maryrose Wood
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Delightful, though the author appears to be channelling Lemony Snicket and Whales on Stilts author Anderson. Had I not read so much of those who came before, I would, no doubt, find Howling inventive and thrilling. Curse of the well-read parent and former children’s librarian, I find it derivative and over-the-top-of-the-dust-jacket winky at the parent reading out loud. Still, do I like it? Yes I do! I think it will appeal both to the precocious elementary reader and the read-to-poke-fun-at-Downton-Abbey adult.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

