Review: Divergent

Divergent
Divergent by Veronica Roth
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

The kid says I am not allowed to see the movie until I have read the book.

I know I’m a curmudgeon. It utterly bugs me that the factions have names that do not match. They should be
Abnegation
Candor
Erudition
Amity
and
Dauntlessness
Not sure I can submerge myself in this sloppy world-building. (Tongue-in-cheek, folks.)

So, much like Starglass, there’s an interesting political backstory here that I wish was more developed. Tris’ mom is clearly a very interesting character, and we just don’t learn enough about her. Why in the world would a society fashion itself like this on purpose? The Hunger Games’ society is believable because it is a forced condition imposed on the losers of a war by the victors. In Divergent, we are expected to believe that everyone chose this, chose segregation, chose to sever entire portions of their lives and personalities and somehow believed it contributed to the greater good. I’m not buying it.

That said, it’s compelling. I’m eager for the work day to be over so I can get back to it.

I have reader’s guilt over not wanting to give this more stars. It’s rating is low because a) I really don’t want to see this movie — It’s a bloody, vicious action flick marketed to young teens and b) whenever my mind wanders back to this story, I am astonished to find that I am not at all curious about how the characters are doing; they are not alive in my imagination. (I still think of Hermione from time to time and wonder how things are going for her. Hermione is alive out there, somewhere, as is Neville.)

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

