Review: Cascade

Cascade
Cascade by Maryanne O’Hara
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

What I enjoyed most about Cascade is that it is more than one kind of book: It is a sweeping historical love story but, it’s also about art and broad social movements and gender roles and self determination in one’s own life at what cost? How do you carve out a life of your own choosing? How to change paths if circumstances have swept you along and you’ve made a mistake? Must you accept the choices you’ve made and stick with them? How do you move on with the least amount of hurt to those around you, who’ve done you no wrong? O’Hara does a great job of getting the reader to care about how all this is going to turn out. There were times when I was terrified that Dez was going to make just one bad choice after another. She had my heart leaping and my stomach sinking. I’m glad I finished this in time — O’Hara will be speaking November 19th in Springfield.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

