Review: Redemption Song: The Ballad of Joe Strummer

Redemption Song: The Ballad of Joe Strummer
Redemption Song: The Ballad of Joe Strummer by Chris Salewicz
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

As of chapter 4: With no chronological or thematic organization, reading this book is a chore (so far). It also appears to be mostly about the author, Salewicz.

Soo, the book gets a little more interesting after about page 100, especially when Salewicz makes comparisons between the Clash and Sex Pistols. Over all, however, this book is a disappointment. I was so excited to read it! But it is mostly a litany of ‘We did this’ and ‘Joe did that’ and ‘Then we all moved into another squat at this address.’ Aaargh. Every now and then the author puts in an interesting anecdote. Sadly, the same 2 or 3 anecdotes keep getting repeated throughout the text, in some collegiate all-nighter type cut-and-paste errors.

I am saved from forcing myself to read the rest of this book — The library won’t let me renew it, and it’s not worth the overdue fines.

This is a double disappointment; when I saw on the jacket cover that he has also written a bio of Billy Bragg, I was pretty psyched to read it. I think I’ll skip it.

I still love the Clash!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

