Review: The Path of Names

The Path of Names
The Path of Names by Ari B. Goelman
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I am giving this 5 stars even before I finish because:
Who writes a book about a smart girl who loves math and magic tricks and gets unwillingly involved in kabbalah and mysterious disappearances at a Jewish summer camp? Points for sheer originality and hitting so many of my personal interests in one swoop! Also, I even wanted to keep reading this book when I was home in bed with chills and sweats and a raging headache and food poisoning. The only regret I have about the story so far is that Goelman felt he had to include the obligatory fashionable ‘mean girls.’ They felt fake. I think he knows camp and magic and Jewish history better than he knows teenagers. I forgive him.

P.S. I did win this in a giveaway from Tablet magazine and I am keeping it.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

