Review: Cartwheels in a Sari: A Memoir of Growing Up Cult

Cartwheels in a Sari: A Memoir of Growing Up Cult
Cartwheels in a Sari: A Memoir of Growing Up Cult by Jayanti Tamm
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I feel for Ms. Tamm and am so glad that she went on to have a good life of her own choosing. I wish I was more impressed by the book itself. I wanted to be.

I did spend some time reading about Sri Chinmoy and his operations in the U.S. as Tamm and I are close in age and traveled all the same Queens streets at the same time. My mom did yoga at various ashrams and, I wondered if I would recognize a picture of him. (Nope.)

This reminded me very much of the books I have read of LDS child-brides and former members of the Amish. Even if you are unhappy, it is almost impossibly difficult to leave behind everyone you know and everything you know how to do.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

