Review: My Sister Lives On The Mantelpiece

My Sister Lives On The Mantelpiece
My Sister Lives On The Mantelpiece by Annabel Pitcher
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Not what I expected.

This is a YA-feeling book with considerably younger characters and older themes. But it’s good.

Jamie is a believable and likable and confused main character. He so wants to believe that this mother and father will remember that they have 2 living children who need their love and attention. With a superhuman will, he puts aside all of the evidence in front of him and continues hoping.

Sunya is amazing. I loved her creativity and her twinkling spirit and the way she liked herself. I could totally see her hijab flying behind her as she reinvented herself as a superhero. I also loved that Pitcher made her realistically pissed off when the teacher expected her to write about holidays she didn’t celebrate, and when Jamie wasn’t acting like a good friend.

Jas and Jamie’s parents are self-absorbed in their grief — You might say they were not believable in their neglect of their kids. I taught school enough years to know that what Pitcher describes is real. And yet, parts of this book are funny. (Thanks for that!)

It was hard to turn the last page. Jamie and Jas’ story isn’t really over, and you’d like to read it through to the end and make sure they’re okay.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

