Review: My Mother Was Nuts

My Mother Was Nuts
My Mother Was Nuts by Penny Marshall
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I was a huuuuuuge Laverne and Shirley fan! Also, I read Penny’s brother Garry’s book and so I must read hers! Schlemiel, Schlimazel! Hosenfeffer Incorporated. Yaaaay.

AND, Eric Idle was once in an episode of Laverne and Shirley!!!

I did enjoy this book. Marshall clearly is appreciative of her experiences and her life trajectory. This very same story in someone else’s hands could have been a sad one — crazy mom, distant dad, married young, unprepared for parenthood, unlucky in love. Instead, she write joyfully of all her good fortune, and takes on her brother’s charge to “give someone a life.” Happy stuff.

(Also, another title in my “glad I missed young adulthood in the 1970s” series.)

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

